• Home
  • Events
  • Digital - Understand The Rules Of The Game 2021 - Annual Conference

Digital - Understand The Rules Of The Game 2021 - Annual Conference

LawInSport's 7th Annual Conference - Understand The Rules of The GameTM 2021 will take place on the 6 & 7 December 2021. You can follow updates about the conference by using #LISconf21. 

Interactive Panel Discussions
The conference provides attendees interactive panel discussions, with world leading experts discussing the contemporary legal issues impacting global sport. You get to engage with fellow attendees in the chat feature and ask your questions throughout the sessions. 

Professional Development & Knowledge Sharing
Not only will attendees partake in cutting edge panel discussions, they will also be given live links to relevant documents, case law and more to help with professional development and provide a truly interactive experience. The conference provides 7 hours of self-certified CPD points

Networking
The LawInSport Annual conference is well known for its unparalleled networking opportunities, and this will be a theme that continues at this year’s conference. This year we will have both in-person networking and digital networking on our conference platform to help attendees to network and share ideas and opinions.

Access to Recordings and Networking App 
All the session are streamed through our platform (Hopin) during the conference. You will also be able to connect and meet with attendees at the live event and those with a digital ticket through the application. 

All recordings will be accessible through a central page on LawInSport.com that will give you access to recordings to all the session.To access the recording you will need to have:

  • Purchased a ticket for the conference, with your LawInSport account. If you don't have an account you can register here for free.
  • Once registered you can view the recordings at the central page when the conference starts.You will receive a certificate for each recording you have watched in full. 

Topics

  • How to become a sports lawyer
  • In-House Counsel Forum
  • What is the future of dispute resolution in sport?
  • How can we create a more unified approach to addressing discrimination in sport?
  • How are changes to the law impacting sports ability to commercialise data?
  • How are sports organisations evolving to address issues of sports integrity and protect the welfare of their participants?
  • How is the corporate governance landscape influencing sports governance?
  • What does "sustainable investment" in sport bring to the table?
  • What are the commercial, legal and regulatory risk and rewards of NFTs, Fan Tokens & Crypto?

AGENDA

The panel schedule may be subject to change due to speaker availability.  

Day 1 - Monday 06 December 2021

  • 15:00-16:00 - In-House Counsel Forum
    This is a networking opportunity for in-house counsel to meet and network. 

  • 16:00 -17:30 - How to become a sports lawyer 
    This is a workshop to help aspiring sports lawyers understand the industry and how to create a plan to develop their career and/or sports law practice.
    • Joshua Charalambous, Senior Associate, RPC
    • Jeremy Stone, Senior Legal Counsel, Williams Racing
  •  TO BE RESCHEDULED To 15th December 2021 at 4pm -  What is the future of dispute resolution in sport? - 16:15:GMT, 17:15 CET, 11:15 EST

Unfortunately, due to our speakers being called into urgent matters this panel will be rescheduling as a standalone session next week. We will update all attendees to confirm the timings and dates shortly.

This panel will examine and debate what the future of dispute resolution looks like in sport drawing on developments from the wider world of alternative disputes resolution as well as recent cases in which the civil courts had to adjudicate on procedural and structural issues in sports arbitration.

Speakers:

        • Jeffrey Benz, Sports Lawyer, Mediator & CAS Arbitrator
        • Laura Abrahamson, International Arbitrator and Mediator, JAMS 
  • How can we create a more unified approach to addressing discrimination in sport? - 17:45 GMT, 18:45 CET, 12:45 EST 

While sport is not immune from the problems we see in society, sports can undoubtedly play a significant role in highlighting important issues and being a positive influence on society. However, recent history has shown the sports sector still has a lot of work still to do when it comes to addressing issues around inclusion and diversity. Our panel will explore how sports can take a more unified and comprehensive approach to dealing with issues of discrimination as well as highlight some of the good rules, policies and practices that are already being used by some organisations in and out of sport.

Speakers:

        • Ifeanyi Odogwu, Barrister, Matrix Chambers (Moderator)
        • Jonathan Hirshler, CEO, Signify
        • Piara Powar, Executive Director, Fare Network
        • Reyes Bellver, President, Leadership Women Football (LWF)
        • N.Jeremi Duru, Professor, American University Washington College of Law

Day 2 - Tuesday 07 December 2021

  • How are changes to the law impacting sports ability to commercialise data? - 9:20 GMT, 10:20 CET, 4:20 EST

Our panel will discuss and debate how changes to legislation and regulations in different parts of the world impacts the ability of sport organisations to use and commercialise data and how the rights and protections given to individuals (e.g. fans and athletes) influences their ability to run their organisations and exploit commercial opportunities.

Speakers:

        • Hugh Tomlinson QC, Barrister, Matrix Chambers
        • Anya Proops QC, Barrister, 11KBW
        • Jorge Oliveira, Head of Data Protection, FIFA
        • Manan Agrawal, Editor, LawInSport (Moderator)
  • How are sports organisations evolving to address the issues of sports integrity and protecting the welfare of athletes? - 10:30 GMT, 11:30 CET, 5:30 EST

As the sports industry continues to grow and mature as a sector there is an increasing understanding that sports organisations must evolve to address the increasingly complex issues of sports integrity. This panel will discuss how sports organisations can create a joined up approach to best address the issues from athlete welfare, safeguarding, anti-doping, match-fixing and anti-corruption with a finite amount of resources.

      • Kim Mundy, Head of Safeguarding & Governance, Southampton FC
      • Richard Bush, Partner, Bird & Bird
      • Tim Naylor, Director of Integrity and Regulation, British Horseracing Authority
      • Alastair Campbell, Partner, Level
  • How is the corporate governance landscape influencing sports governance? - 13:30 GMT, 14:30 CET, 8:30 EST

Our panel will discuss and compare what has been happening in the corporate world and see how traditional sports and esports are evolving including board structures, organising and hosting events, stakeholders representation, diversity and inclusions, environment and other social considerations.

        • Kelvin Omuojine, Governance Consultant & Former Compliance and Regulations, Nigeria Professional Football League
        • Alexander Inglot, Commissioner, ESL Pro League
  • What does "sustainable investment" in sport bring to the table? - 14:30 GMT, 15:30 CET, 9:30 EST

Our panel will explore how the growing emphasis being placed on investors to ensure their investments meet Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) standards will impact the sports sector. The panel will also examine and debate how considerations around financial controls in sport may impact investments and the current financial and corporate model of sport.

Speakers:

        • Daniel Harris-Gorelov, Strategy & Operations Consultant, Move The Posts
        • Matt Slater, Football Business Journalist, The Athletic.
        • Richard Millington, Partner, Shoosmiths
        • Kristen Fulmer, Founder & CEO, Recipric
        • Sabrina Buljubasic, Professor/CO-Founder FCE Europe & Former CEO, FK Sarajevo
  • What are the commercial, legal and regulatory risk and rewards of NFTs & Fan Tokens? - 16:00 GMT, 17:00 CET, 11:00 EST

Our panel will explore the commercial, legal and regulatory issues associated with NFTs and Fan Tokens and look at what issues may be coming in the near and distant future.

Speakers:

      • Zane Shihab, Partner, Armstrong Teasdale LLP
      • Andrew Cooke, General Counsel, Fnatic
      • Tiran Gunawardena, Principal Associate & Arbitrator, Mills & Reeve
      • Chris Bond, Director of Editorial, LawInSport

Tickets

It is recommended you use or a Standard or Plus account and login to your account when you are purchasing your ticket to ensure you can watch the video recordings.  

 TICKET  PRICE
 Standard £140
 LawInSport Plus Member £90
 Student (Full-Time Standard) £70*
 Student with Plus/Academic Membership (Full-Time Student) £45*
 Current & Former Athlete & Esports Players FREE**
 Sports Executives & Administrators FREE***

Corporate Group Tickets: For organisations with teams of 5 or more people wishing to attend email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

*Full-Time Standard ticket: To claim your non plus member full-time student ticket enter the coupon code 'LISconf21Stu' when you are logged into your account Full-Time Student with LawInSport Plus/Academic Membership use the coupon code 'LISconf21StuPlus' when you are logged into your account. Please be aware that we check each student status as a full-time student before the conference starts. If you purchase a student when you are not Full-Time Student (i.e. a working student) you will be prevented from viewing the conference until the balance is paid and your membership may be revoked

**Full-Time Current & Former Athlete & Esports Players - If you have represented your country at the Olympics and Paralympics or you have been a full-time professional athlete, manager or coach, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with your details about the club or country you currently or have represented. If you are currently working in the professional services sector or you are in an executive position for a sports organisation you will not be eligible for free ticket. 

*** If you are not a lawyer and you are working as a full-time sports executive or administrator you may be eligible to attend the conference free of charge. Please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information. An example would be someone working in player care or a commercial team at a sports club, league or federation.

For all inquiries please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..Each attendee only needs to register once for the Conference and they will receive registration details for each session advance of the event. Discounts are applied automatically during the registration and checkout. All digital tickets are nonrefundable. 

Further Discounts

As with all LawInSport's activities we set the price to be as inclusive as possible. A full price ticket equates to less than 1 hour of  billable time for the majority of lawyers around the world. For students it is less than the price of a couple cups of coffee for each session, and is around than 5% of the costs of many online courses. Therefore we hope you will understand why we do not offer any additional discounts. 

POSTPONED -

Event Properties

Event Date 06-12-2021 14:00
Event End Date 07-12-2021 20:00
Individual Price £140

We are no longer accepting registration for this event

Courses

Legal Advisors


Copyright © LawInSport Limited 2010 - 2022. These pages contain general information only. Nothing in these pages constitutes legal advice. You should consult a suitably qualified lawyer on any specific legal problem or matter. The information provided here was accurate as of the day it was posted; however, the law may have changed since that date. This information is not intended to be, and should not be used as, a substitute for taking legal advice in any specific situation. LawInSport is not responsible for any actions taken or not taken on the basis of this information. Please refer to the full terms and conditions on our website.