• Home
  • Topics
  • Sports
  • Olympic
  • IOC Session elects two Vice-Presidents, two Executive Board Members and five new members

IOC Session elects two Vice-Presidents, two Executive Board Members and five new members

IOC Logo


The 136th session of the international olympic committee (ioc), the first-ever session to be held by videoconference, elected mr john d. Coates and mr ser miang ng as vice-presidents, and mrs mikaela cojuangco jaworski and mr gerardo werthein as members of the ioc executive board (eb). The session also elected five new ioc members following the proposal of the eb on 10 june.

Mr John D. Coates and Mr Ser Miang Ng will replace Professor Uğur Erdener and Mr Juan Antonio Samaranch as Vice-Presidents.

Mrs Mikaela Cojuangco Jaworski and Mr Gerardo Werthein will replace Mr Sergey Bubka, whose  eight-year term on the Board came to an end, and Mr Ser Miang Ng, whose four-year term came to an end and who was elected Vice-President. Their terms of office will start at the end of the 136th IOC Session.

With this election, female representation on the EB has grown to 33.3 per cent. Also, the First Vice-President, Ms Anita DeFrantz, is female.

The newly elected IOC Members include four Individual Members and one Member whose election is linked to a function within an International Federation (IF).


Mrs Maria de la Caridad Colón Ruenes (Female, 1958, Cuba)

Mrs Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović (Female, 1968, Croatia)

Princess Reema Bandar Al-Saud (Female, 1975, Saudi Arabia)

Mr Battushig Batbold (Male, 1986, Mongolia)


Mr Sebastian Coe, President of World Athletics (Male, 1956, Great Britain).

The addition of the five new Members brings the total number of IOC Members to 104.

With 39 women on board – representing 37.5 per cent of its membership versus 21.3 per cent in 2013 – the Session has demonstrated the IOC’s commitment to promoting gender equality within its leadership. This is a tangible result of the implementation of the Gender Equality Review Project’s governance-related recommendation. A few weeks ago, the IOC announced the composition of its commissions for 2020, with 47.7 per cent of positions held by women, a concrete outcome of the Olympic Agenda 2020 reforms.


Three Members were re-elected for an additional eight years: Mrs Lingwei LiPierre-Olivier Beckers-Vieujant and Mrs Aïcha Garad Ali.


IOC Member Mr William Frederick Blick saw his status changed from Member representing an NOC (membership linked to his function as President of the NOC of Uganda) to Individual Member.

Additionally, Mr Zaiqing Yu, whose term of office was expected to end in December 2021 due to his reaching the age limit, had his term extended until the end of 2025.


Mrs Beatrice Allen, finishing her term of office at the end of 2020 due to reaching the age limit, was granted the status of IOC Honorary Member after having served as an IOC Member for 14 years.

The original article can be found here.

Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment.


Legal Advisors

Copyright © LawInSport Limited 2010 - 2021. These pages contain general information only. Nothing in these pages constitutes legal advice. You should consult a suitably qualified lawyer on any specific legal problem or matter. The information provided here was accurate as of the day it was posted; however, the law may have changed since that date. This information is not intended to be, and should not be used as, a substitute for taking legal advice in any specific situation. LawInSport is not responsible for any actions taken or not taken on the basis of this information. Please refer to the full terms and conditions on our website.