• Home
  • Tags: Rugby Football Union

Premiership Rugby to expand to 14 teams with no threat of relegation for next two seasons

Sport Resolutions Logo

The Rugby Football Union has approved major structural changes to the Premiership which will see it increase to 14 teams with no threat of relegation during the next two seasons.

Saracens won promotion back into the Premiership this month, after one season in the Championship, where they will form a 13-team league with no relegation before the 21/22 Championship winners join to form a 14-team league for the 22/23 campaign, that season will also see no relegation or promotion. The following campaign will introduce a play-off between the side that finishes bottom of the Premiership and the side at the top of the Championship.


Legal Advisors

Upcoming Events

There are no up-coming events

Copyright © LawInSport Limited 2010 - 2022. These pages contain general information only. Nothing in these pages constitutes legal advice. You should consult a suitably qualified lawyer on any specific legal problem or matter. The information provided here was accurate as of the day it was posted; however, the law may have changed since that date. This information is not intended to be, and should not be used as, a substitute for taking legal advice in any specific situation. LawInSport is not responsible for any actions taken or not taken on the basis of this information. Please refer to the full terms and conditions on our website.