• Home
  • Topics
  • Features
  • Survey on the impact of COVID-19 on sports dispute resolution procedures

Survey on the impact of COVID-19 on sports dispute resolution procedures

Title image Survey on the impact of COVID-19 on sports dispute resolution procedures
Thursday, 13 August 2020.

This survey is targeted at all those who have been involved or concerned about sports disputes and proceedings during the COVID pandemic.

We are seeking feedback in order to help assess and modify the Protocols and Guidance Notes (find a PDF of the whole Pack here) prepared by the Ad Hoc Working Party on Dispute Resolutions ("AWDRES-C19").



Members of the Working Party

Kwadjo Adjepong - Sport Resolutions arbitrator, Chair of FA National Discipline and Anti-Discrimination Panels, member Premier League Judicial Panel, UK Sport Eligibility Panel, LTA Discipline Panel, Solicitor

Roberto Barracco - Head of Research National DRC, Brazilian Soccer Federation

Michael Beloff QC - CAS arbitrator, Chair of ICC Code of Conduct Commission, Chair of the ICC dispute resolution commission, UFC doping appeal tribunal member, Member of Blackstone Chambers

Jeffrey Benz - CAS, JAMS and Sport Resolutions arbitrator and mediator, NCAA Infractions Referral Comm. Chair and Independent Resolution Panel member, World Athletics Disciplinary Tribunal member, Board member Sports Lawyers Association and National Sports Law Institute, member 4 New Square.

Jonathan Bray - National Sports Tribunal, Australia

Sir Stanley Burnton - Arbitrator, Premier League Judicial Panel member, former Appeal Judge, Member of One Essex Court Chambers

Massimo Coccia - CAS arbitrator,  Professor at the University of Rome, Partner in Coccia De Angelis Vecchio & Associati

Sean Cottrell - Founder and CEO of LawInSport

Michele Colucci - FIFA DRC Member and scientific director of the Sports Law and Policy Centre

Nick De Marco QC - Barrister and Sport Resolutions arbitrator, member World Athletics Disciplinary Tribunal member, AIAC Sports Panel, Chair British Wrestling Judicial Panel, Director BASL, Member of Blackstone Chambers

Steven Flynn - Barrister and arbitrator, England Boxing Disciplinary Panel member, Visiting Fellow Centre for Sports Law Research, Member of Kings Chambers

Genevieve Gordon -Tactic Connect and De Montfort University, Centre for Sport, Technology and Law

Rafael Hagopjanian -Law Graduate, Pepperdine Law School

Sean Jones QC - Employment Judge, Employment Law Bar Association Management Committee, Bar Council member, Member of 11 KBW

Dr Despina Mavromati - Attorney, UEFA Appeals Body member, SportLegis Lausanne

Nicola McCalliog -  Chartered Forensic Psychologist, HCPC Registered Psychologist, Associate Fellow British Psychological Society, Director MPWR Sports

John Mehrzad QC - CAS and Sport Resolutions arbitrator, Member of Littleton Chambers

Graeme McPherson QC - Premier League Judicial Panel member, FA Judicial Panel member, Sport Resolutions arbitrator, Chair of the Board of Appeal of Table Tennis England, Member of 4 New Square Chambers

Leanne O’Leary - CAS and Sport Resolutions arbitrator, Premier League Judicial Panel member, England Boxing Safeguarding Review Panel member. Senior Lecturer Centre for Sports Law Research, Edge Hill University

Raj Parker  - Sport Resolutions arbitrator and mediator, Premier League Judicial Panel Deputy Chair, Basketball Arbitration Tribunal Vice President, , World Athletics Disciplinary Tribunal member, Grand Court Judge of the Cayman Islands Financial Services Division, Member of Matrix Chambers

Kendrah Potts - Sport Resolutions arbitrator and mediator, Union Cycliste Internationale Arbitral and Disciplinary Panel member, British Equestrian Federation arbitrator, Member of 4 New Square Chambers

Klaus Reichert SC - CAS, LCIA, ICC, ICDR, and UNCITRAL arbitrator, Executive member Institute of Transnational Arbitration (Dallas), Fellow College of Commercial Arbitration (USA), Advisory Board Member ICCA, Member of Brick Court Chambers

Liz Riley - General Counsel at International Paralympic Committee

Murray Rosen QC - CAS and Sport Resolutions arbitrator, mediator, Premier League Judicial Panel Chair, Deputy High Court Judge (Chancery), Member of 4 New Square Chambers

Tariq Sadiq - Sport Resolutions arbitrator, Chair of FA Anti-Discrimination Panel, Member of Parkland Plowden Chambers

Christopher Stoner QC - Barrister and arbitrator, Member of Serle Court and Guildhall Chambers

Jonathan Taylor QC - Sport Resolutions arbitrator, Head of Sports Group Bird & Bird

Henry Tufnell -  Law Graduate, Pepperdine Law School

Bill Wood QC - CAS mediator, ADR Representative Civil Justice Council, Vice-Chair Judicial ADR Liaison Committee, Member of Brick Court Chambers

APPENDIX 2 - Consultees

Beverley Agbakoba-Onyejianya

Chirayato Banerjee

David Barnes

Rupert Beloff

Matthew Campbell-Hill

Chris Bond

Sebastian Bult

Aman Choudhary

Iseult Cody 

George Coombs

Phil Draper

Lord John Dyson

Craig Harris

Fiona Heathcote

Clifford Hendel

Mark Hovell

Bohdan Kozar

Ian Laing

Alys Lewis

Ryan Locke

Paolo Lombardi

Ali Masoudi Lamraski

Francesco Macri

Kachi Okezie

Mark O'Neill

Dev Kumar Parmar

Luca Pastore

David Seligman

James Severn

David Stern

Anna Smirnova

Saksham Samarth

Michele Verroken

Prof. Maureen Weston

Sir Wyn Williams

James Willoughby

Related Articles


Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment.


Legal Advisors

Copyright © LawInSport Limited 2010 - 2022. These pages contain general information only. Nothing in these pages constitutes legal advice. You should consult a suitably qualified lawyer on any specific legal problem or matter. The information provided here was accurate as of the day it was posted; however, the law may have changed since that date. This information is not intended to be, and should not be used as, a substitute for taking legal advice in any specific situation. LawInSport is not responsible for any actions taken or not taken on the basis of this information. Please refer to the full terms and conditions on our website.