Sir Hugh Robertson elected Vice Chair of the BOA

Former Sports Minister Sir Hugh Robertson has today been named as the new Vice Chairman of the British Olympic Association (BOA) following an election by National Olympic Committee members.

In addition, Annamarie Phelps, Hew Chalmers and Ian Howard have been elected onto the Board as National Governing Body (NGB) Representatives following the vote.

Sir Hugh replaces outgoing Vice Chair David Hemery, who has served the maximum time in the post. David has now been made Life Vice President by Chairman Seb Coe.

Sir Hugh presided over the London 2012 Olympic Games as the government’s Minister for Sport from 2010-2013 having previously occupied the post of Shadow Minister from 2004. Hugh stood down as MP for Faversham and Mid Kent for the 2015 General Election following two successful election wins in 2005 and 2010.

British Curling Director Hew Chalmers is re-elected to the Board for another four year term while Ian Howard (President and Chair of British Triathlon) and Annamarie Phelps (Chairman of British Rowing) join for the first time, replacing Neils de Vos (British Athletics) and David Sparkes (British Swimming).

The trio join Richard Leman (Great Britain Hockey) and Sarah Treseder (Royal Yachting Association) as the Board’s sport representatives.

In addition to the Election Meeting, as defined in the Articles of Association for the purposes of electing a new Vice Chairman and three NGB Representatives, the Board was also updated on Games matters concerning the Lillehammer 2016 Winter Youth Olympic Games and the Rio 2016, PyeongChang 2018 and Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Hew Chalmers has been a director of British Curling since its inception and was the Great Britain Olympic Team Manager in 2002, Team Co-ordinator in 2006 and Women’s Team Manager for the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games. Hew was elected to the BOA Board in November 2010 and in 2014 was elected to the World Curling Federation executive board.

A former British Age Group triathlon champion, Ian Howard has been President and Chair of the British Triathlon Federation since January 2013 and a Member of the Board since 2007. Ian also sits on the Executive Board of the European Triathlon.

Atlanta 1996 Olympian and former World Champion rower, Annamarie Phelps has been Chairman of British Rowing since 2013 and is also the Deputy Chairman and a Trustee of the British Paralympic Association. Annamarie also sat on the BOA’s Athlete Commission between 1994-1998.

Seb Coe said: “I am delighted to welcome the new Vice Chair Hugh Robertson to the BOA Board along with the sport representatives Annamarie Phelps, Hew Chalmers and Ian Howard. I very much look forward to working with them on the road to Rio and beyond."

I would also like to thank outgoing members, especially David Hemery whose term as Vice Chair comes to an end, for their valuable guidance and support during my time with the BOA.

Sir Hugh Robertson said: “The BOA is an organisation that puts the athletes at the forefront of everything it does and this is therefore a fantastic opportunity for me to build on the success of London 2012 and help the BOA deliver at future Olympic Games.

Hew Chalmers said: “I’m delighted to be re-elected and will continue to build on the work we have done with winter sports, on the good work being done on our road to Rio 2016 as well as continuing to provide strategic direction to senior leadership team at the BOA.

Annamarie Phelps said: “I’m delighted to join the board at such a critical time for elite sport in our country with a number of important topics in discussion as well as Rio on the horizon.

Ian Howard said: “It’s an honour to serve on such an illustrious board. Triathlon is a small sport but we are keen to punch above our weight and I will do my very best to repay the trust that has been placed in me.



Related Articles